Free Betty Noel III!

For reasons best known to the Delphic Oracle, the D.C. Council has refused to vote or even schedule a vote on the nomination of Betty Noel, one of the finest public servants in this city’s history to the D.C. Public Service Commission. That oversight is as inexcusable as it is incomprehensible. In nominating Noel, the mayor struck a blow for the utmost in quality, excellence, integrity, commitment and service. In Betty Noel he found all of those qualities in abundance as well as a figure to rekindle hope and pride in his administration.   He also struck a blow for freedom. This city is rapidly becoming unaffordable for all but the well-to-do and forcing an exodus of poor and limited income people. The cost of living is spiraling here, fed in large part by exorbitant utility costs. Betty Noel is one of the few people capable of reversing that trend and has demonstrated that incomparable skill through her many years of service as D.C. People’s Counsel. She has battled behemoths of greed like Pepco, and forced rate reductions to the benefit of us all. That is why she is the “people’s choice” with backing from the vast majority of us – D.C. tenants, labor, and homeowners alike. A vote against Betty Noel is a vote for rapacious housing costs and escalating this city’s unaffordability.   We say the Council needs to free Betty Noel Now and favorably vote for her confirmation. What do you say?   You can say it best by contacting your councilmembers (emails and phone numbers listed below) and attend a rally and councilmember consult to confirm Betty Noel, on March 7, at 10 A.M., at the Wilson Building, 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW.

  • Jim McGrath

  Chairman – Kwame Brown Tel: (202) 724-8032 Fax: (202) 724-8156 kbrown@dccouncil.us Ward 1 – Jim Graham Tel: (202) 724-8181 Fax: (202) 724-8109 jim@grahamwone.com Ward 2 – Jack Evans Tel: (202) 724-8058 Fax: (202) 724-8023 jackevans@dccouncil.us Ward 3 – Mary Cheh Tel: (202) 724-8062 Fax: (202) 724-8118 mcheh@dccouncil.us Ward 4 – Muriel Bowser Tel: (202) 724-8052 Fax: (202) 741-0908 mbowser@dccouncil.us Ward 5 – Vacant Ward 6 – Tommy Wells Tel: (202) 724-8072 Fax: (202) 724-8054 twells@dccouncil.us Ward 7 – Yvette Alexander Tel: (202) 724-8068 Fax: (202) 741-0911 yalexander@dccoucil.us Ward 8 – Marion Barry Tel: (202) 724-8045 Fax: (202) 724-8055 mbarry@dccouncil.us At-Large – Phil Mendelson Tel: (202) 724-8064 Fax: (202) 724-8099 pmendelson@dcouncil.us At-Large – Michael Brown Tel: (202) 724-8105 Fax: (202) 724-8071 mbrown@dccouncil.us At-Large – Vincent Orange Tel: (202) 724-8174 Fax: (202) 727-8210 vorange@dccouncil.us At-Large – David Catania Tel: (202) 724-7772 Fax: (202) 724-8087 dcatania@dccouncil.us

AttachmentSize
Free Betty Noel, Round 3 - Press Release.doc33 KB